Patentanwälte Riechelmann und Carlsohn

Due Diligence

An IP Due Diligence includes a comprehensive examinatinon of the legal position of an enterprise in relation to commercial law.

It is indispensable, especially for new, technology-based enterprises and other start-ups, to have a monopolistic position protected by patents in order to be able to acquire venture capital. Additionally, due diligence tests play an important role in the area of mergers and acquisitions.

As part of a due diligence test, all of an enterprise's commercial protections are analyzed. These include patents, patent applications, licenses, trademarks, designs, and other rights. Regarding patents, it must also be taken into consideration that owning a patent alone does not give the right to produce the patented product or to apply the patented process. For this reason it is necessary to check the freedom to operate in many cases.

Among other things, the following questions in regard to patents are answered: Does the enterprise in fact have the sole right to the patent? Is the patent legal? How much longer is the patent valid? Is the patent being opposed by a third party? What is the extent of the territory covered under the patent? Does the patent cover the enterprise's own product?

Similar questions are also posed for trademarks. An important aspect here are the so-called demarcation agreements, which can create a considerable limitation of an enterprise's entrepreneurial freedom. A further aspect is the examination of the rights reserved use of a trademark, since an unused or underused trademark can possibly be claimed to be unsuccessful.

Another consideration is the evaluation of IP rights. The realization of the value of rights can occur in different ways, for example the regulation of production costs by way of license analogy or by way of estimation.

What we can do for you: Carrying out IP due diligence tests is a part of our daily tasks. In addition, we research and draw up expert opinions which, dependent on the aim of the test, evaluate a part of or the complete IP position of an enterprise.

The starting point for an IP due diligence test is an analysis of possible problems and the creation of a time- and money-saving plan of action. Particularly, it will be decided which preparations your enterprise can afford in order to quickly and effectively complete the examination.

Patentanwälte Riechelmann und Carlsohn

Due Diligence

Eine IP Due Diligence umfaßt eine intensive Prüfung der rechtlichen Position des Unternehmens in bezug auf gewerbliche Schutzrechte.

Insbesondere für junge, technologie-basierte Unternehmen ("Start-ups") ist eine durch Patente geschützte Monopolstellung unerlässlich, um Risikokapital akquirieren zu können. Ferner spielen Due Diligence-Prüfungen eine wesentliche Rolle im Bereich Mergers and Aquisitions.

Analysiert werden sämtliche gewerblichen Schutzrechte des Unternehmens, also die eigenen Patente und Patentanmeldungen, Lizenzen an Patenten, Marken, Designs und andere Rechte. Gerade im Hinblick auf Patente ist jedoch zu beachten, dass der Besitz eines Patentes allein noch nicht zur Herstellung des patentierten Produktes oder zur Anwendung des patentierten Verfahrens berechtigt. Deshalb wird es in vielen Fällen notwendig sein, die Rechtsmängelfreiheit ("freedom to operate") innovativer Erzeugnisse zu überprüfen.

Im Hinblick auf Patente werden unter anderem folgende Fragen geklärt: Hat das Unternehmen tatsächlich das (alleinige) Recht auf das Patent? Ist das Patent rechtsbeständig? Wie lang ist die Restlaufzeit des Patentes? Wird das Patent von Dritten angegriffen? Wurden Dritten Rechte an dem Patent eingeräumt, beispielsweise in Form von Lizenzen? Welchen territorialen Umfang hat der Patentschutz? Schützt das Patent das eigene Produkt?

Auch bei Marken stellen sich ähnliche Fragen. Ein wesentlicher Aspekt sind hierbei sogenannte Abgrenzungsvereinbarungen, die eine wesentliche Einschränkung der eigenen unternehmerischen Freiheit darstellen können. Ein weiterer Aspekt ist die Prüfung der rechtserhaltenden Benutzung einer Marke, da eine nicht (ausreichend) benutzte Marke unter Umständen auf dem Markt nicht erfolgreich behauptet werden kann.

Ein weiterer Aspekt ist die Bewertung von IP-Rechten. Die Feststellung des Wertes eines Rechtes kann auf unterschiedlichen Wegen erfolgen, beispielsweise durch Bestimmung der Gestehungskosten, mittels Lizenzanalogie oder durch freie Schätzung.

Was wir für Sie tun können: Die Durchführung von IP Due Diligences gehört zu unseren täglichen Aufgaben. Dazu recherchieren wir und fertigen Gutachten an, die in Abhängigkeit vom Zweck der Prüfung einen Teil oder sämtliche Aspekte der IP-Position des Unternehmens bewerten.

Ausgangspunkt einer IP Due Diligence ist eine Analyse der möglichen Probleme und die Erarbeitung eines zeit- und kostensparenden Ablaufplanes. Insbesondere wird dabei geklärt, welche Vorarbeiten Ihr Unternehmen leisten kann, um die Prüfung schnell und effektiv abzuschließen.